Intellectual Property Rights Cell Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Technical University, BATHINDA (A State University Established By Govt. of Punjab vide Punjab Act No. 5 of 2015 and Under Section 2(f) & 12 B of UGC)

From Vice Chancellor's Desk

 I have great pleasure in welcoming the aspiring students to the newly established Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Technical University (MRSPTU), Bathinda, the second technical University established by the Govt. of Punjab. The mission of MRSPTU is to promote excellence in technical and scientific education and research. Emergence of newer technologies is creating newer avenues and opportunities, which necessitates acquiring of newer skills. The horizons of professional activities are expanding and providing immense scope for younger generation to uncap their talent to touch greater heights of achievements. The university offers a wide array of Technical, Scientific and Management courses through its affiliated colleges and campuses. The university will be initiating newer teaching and research programmes in emerging inter-disciplinary areas of science and technology. We endeavor to prepare our students to serve Community, Nation and World by providing quality education and promoting all-round development in a conducive atmosphere for a spirit of free inquiry. In the highly competitive world, we want our students to be well educated and trained to become responsible citizens and prepared to face competitions at national and international level. The Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Technical University, Bathinda with the introduction of new courses of study, new disciplines and highly qualified faculty is well poised to embark on road to achieve greater heights and make its mark international level.

Prof. (Dr.) Buta Singh Sidhu
Vice Chancellor,
Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Technical University, Bathinda

Vice Chancellor's Profile

Prof. (Dr.) Buta Singh Sidhu
Vice Chancellor,
Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Technical University (MRSPTU)
Bathinda-151001, Punjab (India)

Prof. Buta Singh Sidhu completed B.E. (Mech. Engg.) and M.E. (Mech. Engg.) from Guru Nanak Dev Engineering College, Ludhiana and Ph. D from Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee. He has served on many key administrative position such as Director Yadavindra College of Engineering, Punjabi University Guru Kashi Campus, Talwandi Sabo (Bathinda), Dean (Academic) IKG PTU Jalandhar, Principal, GZS CET Bathinda, Founder Director, Punjab Institute of Technology, Mansa, Founder Director, Punjab Institute of Technology PIT-Kapurthala, a constituent college of PTU, Director, Punjab Institute of Technology PIT-Rajpura, a constituent college of PTU, Dean (Distance Education), Additional Charge, IKG Punjab Technical University, Dean (Planning and Development), MRS Punjab Technical University, Bathinda, Registrar, MRS Punjab Technical University, Bathinda. Presently working as Vice Chancellor, MRS Punjab Technical University Bathinda since 2nd Nov, 2020 and Additional Charge of SBS State University, Ferozepur.

His area of specialization is Surface Engineering, Hot Corrosion and Protection of Materials, Degradation of Materials, Erosion and Wear, Biomedical Coatings, Friction-Stir Processing and Welding, Production Engineering and Thermal Engineering. Under his supervision 11 students have completed their Ph.D and 08 are under process. He has published 105 Research Papers in various journals of reputes, 02 books and one book chapter. He has presented 72 research papers in various conferences and seminars. He has been awarded with 08 research projects from various Govt. research bodies like DST, AICTE etc.

He has been awarded with Leading Engineer of the World, awarded by International Biographical Centre, Cambridge, England (UK) in the year 2006, Best Engineering College Teacher Award, Awarded by ISTE New Delhi in year 2006. He has also been awarded with ISTE Honorary Fellowship for the year 2016 on account of distinguished contribution in the area of Technical Education and highly commendable services rendered for the growth of Technical Education System in the Country.

He has also a membership of various Professional Organization such as Life member of ISTE (LM-15413) and Elected as Executive Council Member, Nominated as member to TSS Thermal Spray Advisory Council of TSS-ASM Thermal Spray Society, an affiliate Society of ASM International, USA, Founder Life member of “Society of Materials and Mechanical Engineers” and Elected as President, Member of Programme Advisory Committee (PAC) of DST for MOBILITY FELLOWSHIP (Addressing Relocation Issue of Women Scientists/Academicians) under KIRAN (Knowledge Involvement in Research Advancement through Nurturing) for the years 2016-2018.